Limits on RFIs Shared Through Bridge
After a closed RFI is created in a target project, it's view-only in that project. You continue to update and process the RFI in the source project.
- You can edit RFI Number and Watchers in every project. Bridge doesn't copy these values to other projects.
- In target projects, you can only duplicate a received RFI. You can't reopen or void it.
- If an RFI was reopened in the source project, the Workflow Bar isn't available for it in the target project.
When RFIs become out of sync
- Project administrators can still update an RFI while it's closed in the target project.
- When an RFI is reopened in the source project, all actively bridged target projects get a status update. The status becomes "Open Waiting for Submission" or "Open Answered," based on the RFI's status before it was closed.
- Exception: If you remove the Bridge connection between projects, target projects stop receiving updates, including status updates.
Out-of-sync warnings
A red warning icon appears next to the title of each RFI that has changes in the source project that weren't synced to the target projects. The same icon appears in the source project if changes to the RFI weren't shared through Bridge.
Manage out-of-sync warnings
- If you remove the Bridge from a source project to all its target projects, the warning clears on all RFIs in the source project.
- If you remove the Bridge between two projects, RFIs that were already out of sync keep the warning in the target project.
- The warning clears in the target project only when you reconnect the projects and reshare the same RFIs.
For more information, see RFI sharing indicators.
To keep shared RFIs current, choose one project as the place where you update RFIs. Make sure your team knows that shared RFIs are view-only. Review your Bridge connections regularly, and resolve out-of-sync warnings promptly.
For information about managing Bridge connections, see RFIs in unbridged projects.