Version Management

The Schedule tool lets you view and manage multiple versions of a particular schedule.

The Schedule tool stores all previous schedule versions, and you can display them at any time. Each version has a summary (narrative) that explains changes in the schedule.

Note: You create the summary when you upload a version or edit it in Version history.

To view a version, select it in Version history.

Important: You can share a view of any schedule version, including in Compare mode.

You can open Version history in either of these ways:

Version history listing each schedule version with its summary

Use Version history to select a schedule version to view or compare with other versions.

You can edit a version's name and summary, or download its attached files, at any time.

Edit and Distribute options for a schedule version

Important: Only members with Update and Manage permissions can edit the version's name and summary. Only users with Update permission or above for the schedule can download the source file.

Forma Build keeps permissions for the Files subfolder that contains the schedule in sync with the schedule permissions. People without access to the schedule can't download the source file from the Files tool.

Click Distribute to send a one-time notification with the new version's details to the selected list of members. You can distribute a version while updating or from Version history at any time.

Important: Only members with Update and Manage permissions can distribute new versions.

Forma Build groups small edits as records under a single version when you use Desktop Connector for Forma Data Management or update the schedule from Forma Data Management, so Version history stays uncluttered.

A new version starts:

Version history with grouped Desktop Connector changes