Update a schedule to keep project teams up to date with changes to the project's schedule.
When you update, you can rename schedule versions, add summaries (narratives), and notify people in the distribution list about the new update.
Important: You can add people without permission to a restricted schedule to the distribution list, but they can't view the schedule. If a user with Manage permission adds them, they get View permission to the schedule and receive a notification.
Forma Build saves summaries and summary attachments in the Narratives folders in the Files tool.
Each schedule can contain multiple versions. Only Project Administrators or members with at least Update permission can update a schedule.
There are a few ways to update a schedule with a new version.
- Select Schedule from the left navigation to open the Schedule tool.
- Click the More menu
on the schedule thumbnail, then select
Update schedule.
- Browse for the updated file, then click Open.
Update from an open schedule
- Select Schedule from the left navigation to open the Schedule tool.
- Select a schedule to open it.
- Click Update schedule.
- Browse for the updated file, then click Open.
- Select Files from the left navigation to open the Files tool.
- Open the folder containing your schedule (Project Files > Schedule tool files > <Name of schedule>).
- Click Upload files.
- Select the file, then click Done.
The updated schedule appears in the Schedule tool.
Update with Desktop Connector
Desktop Connector for Forma Data Management connects local files with those in the Files tool. To use it to update a schedule:
- Open Desktop Connector for Forma Data Management.
- Open the folder containing the schedule.
- Open the schedule with the authoring tool.
- In the authoring tool, update the schedule and save changes. Saving creates a new schedule version in the Files tool, and it appears in the Schedule tool.
With Desktop Connector for Forma Data Management, you can edit and distribute the version from Version history.
Important: Updating or suggesting changes in the Schedule tool doesn't change your original file. Synchronization isn't available.
Forma Build groups small edits as records under a single version when you use Desktop Connector for Forma Data Management or update the schedule from Forma Data Management, so Version history stays uncluttered.
A new version starts:
- Every day (intraday changes are grouped)
- When a version is edited or distributed in the Schedule tool
- When a new schedule file is manually uploaded
