Share

Understanding File Versioning

YouTube
Understanding File Versioning
Understanding how file versioning works in Document Management.

Document Management will keep track of file versions and allow you to restore a file to a previous version.

When viewing documents in either the Plans or Project Files folders, you can see the Version. When a file is initially uploaded, V1 will appear in the Version column. Subsequent versions are controlled slightly differently in the Plans and Project Files folders.

Keep in mind that in the Plans folder, multi-page PDF files are separated into individual documents, and sheets are extracted from design files, such as Revit models, to create individual documents. In the Project Files folder, you can simply upload files. PDFs are not separated, and nothing is extracted from design files.

In the Project Files folder, each time a file is uploaded with the same Name, a new version is added.

At any time, you can click the version number in the Version column to open the Version History dialog. Here, you can see the file name, along with the available versions. It also shows who uploaded the file and when it was uploaded. The current version of the file is labeled as CURRENT. The other versions of the file have a Make Current option. You can click Make Current to restore that version of the file as the current version. When you are viewing the version history of a PDF file, you can also Export, Copy, and Download source file for any version.

Export will download an individual document of the version you select, along with any markups and hyperlinks. Download source file will download the source file for the version you select. Click Done to close this dialog.

In the Plans folder, the versioning works the same. However, instead of being controlled for the entire file, the program keeps track of individual document versions. For example, when uploading a multi-page PDF file, the individual sheets are separated to create documents. You can then see the Name of the document, along with the Title of the sheet. The Name is based on the sheet number, which is extracted during the upload process.

Once again, the documents will begin at V1. Each time a file is uploaded with a document containing the same Name, a new version is added. In other words, a PDF file can be uploaded with a different file name, but as long as the sheets are the same and have the same sheet numbers, then a new version of each sheet will be created. Also, you can upload a PDF file that contains a single sheet, and a new version of that sheet will be created.

Again, you can click the version number in the Version column to open the Version History dialog. The same controls are available as were available for the Project Files folder.

Additionally, when viewing the version history of design files in either the Plans or Project Files folders, Export is not available. However, you can still click Download source file.

In summary, the program keeps track of file versions in the Project Files folder and document versions in the Plans folder. Also, design files cannot be exported.

Was this information helpful?