You can use the Check Out command to prevent others from making changes to project points while you are editing them.
To edit a project point, check it out to a drawing, edit it in the drawing, and then check it back into the project.
Checking out a project point creates a local copy of the point in the drawing. The Check Out command gives you exclusive access to the project point; no one else can check it out while you are working on it.
If the Check Out command is not available, you can use the Get From Project command to a read-only local copy of the point. For more information, see Copying Project Points into a Drawing.
Tutorial Exercise: Checking Out and Modifying Project Points
- Verify that the drawing you want to bring the points into is the active drawing. If it is not, right-click the drawing name in the Open Drawings collection in the Prospector tree and click Switch To.
- In Toolspace, on the Prospector tab, expand the Projects collection and then expand the project that contains the points you want to check out.
- Click the project Points collection to display a list view.
- In the list view, select the project points you want to check out, right-click, and click Check Out.
- In the Check Out dialog box, click OK.
Local copies of the points are created in the active drawing.
