Use the pipe network creation and naming settings in the Pipe Network Settings dialog box to change pipe network settings before you create a pipe network.
For example, before creating a pipe network, you may want to specify the default rules used for pipes or structures in the parts list when new parts are added to it.
Note that if a closed lock appears in the Lock column for a property, the property is locked at a higher level of the Settings tree. It cannot be changed at this level.
If you change a property value, a check mark is placed in the My Override column. This override is also noted in the property table for related objects higher up the Settings tree, where a green arrow appears in the Child Override column.
To change pipe network creation settings
- Do one of the following:
- To edit settings for all pipe network commands: In Toolspace, on the Settings tab, right-click the Pipe Network collection. Click Edit Feature Settings.
- To edit settings for a specific command: In Toolspace, on the Settings tab, expand the Commands collection in the Pipe Network collection. Right-click the name of the command for which you want to change settings. Click Edit Command Settings. For example, right-click the CreateNetwork command and click Edit Command Settings.
The Edit Feature Settings dialog box is displayed.
- To edit the default naming format for pipe networks and data that can be extracted from the pipe network, expand the Default Name Format property group. Edit the Name Template settings.
- Click Apply.
