Migrate Workshared Linked Models to the Cloud

When using Revit Cloud Worksharing for a host model with linked models, save each linked model to the cloud. Then use the Manage Links tool to reload the links from their cloud location.

For each workshared cloud model that is linked to the host model, do the following in Revit:

  1. Open the linked model.
  2. Click Collaborate tabManage Collaboration panel (Collaborate).
  3. Select In the Cloud.
  4. In the Save as Cloud Model dialog, navigate to the desired project and folder in the cloud.
    Note: When you save a model to the cloud, save to the Projects folder. See About Files in the Forma Data Management Help for details.
  5. Click Save.

    Revit displays information about the status of the saving process.

  6. Click Close to continue.
  7. Repeat the above steps for each linked model.
  8. After you have initiated cloud collaboration from Revit on all linked models, open the host model in Revit.
  9. Click Manage tabManage Project panel (Manage Links).
  10. On the Revit tab of the Manage Links dialog, for each linked model, do the following:
    1. Select a linked model, and click Reload From.

      Notice that the External Resources file browser opens by default to the cloud project location.

    2. Select the name of the linked file, and click Open.

      The cloud version of the link is cached on your local computer and loaded.

      Note that local links won't be visible when published. They must first be migrated from local links to a cloud model link.

    3. Repeat these steps to reload each linked model from the cloud location.
  11. Click OK to close the Manage Links dialog.
Note: When a cloud project is renamed, the Manage Links dialog may still reference the old project name in the link paths. The links will still resolve correctly, however the path may be confusing. To update the Saved Path to the new project name, use the Synchronize with Central tool, Synchronize and Modify Settings drop-down. Click OK. To update the link paths in the Manage Links dialog, click Reload.