How to use
Revit Cloud Worksharing to collaborate on the model concurrently.
Team members can work on the cloud with the
Revit team only or with external stakeholders (by
publishing the model).
To use Revit Cloud Worksharing, start by initiating a model to the Projects folder in
Forma Data Management. You can do it in three ways.
Option 1 - using the default worksharing settings
- In
Revit, open or create a model.
- Click Collaborate tab
Manage Collaboration panel
(Collaborate).
- If prompted,
sign in to your Autodesk account.
Note: When you sign in, your
Revit username changes to match your Autodesk ID.
- In the Collaborate dialog, select In the cloud.
- Click OK.
- Select the desired project folder.
- In the Save as Cloud Model dialog, click Save .
Revit displays information about the status of the initiation process.
- Click Close to continue.
- If you subscribe to notifications in
Forma Data Management, you receive an email when your model is successfully published to the cloud.
- If the uploaded model includes links,
migrate the linked models to
Forma Data Management.
Note: After a model has been workshared, the
Forma Data Management project is only visible to the release of
Revit the model was shared from. Cloud models can only be linked to other models shared using the same release.
Option 2 - when you want to use a specific
workset
- In
Revit, open or create a model.
- Click Collaborate tab
Manage Collaboration panel
(Worksets).
- In the Worksets dialog, select a workset, and click OK.
- Click File tab

(Save As)
(Cloud Model).
- In the Save as Cloud Model dialog, navigate to the desired project and folder in the cloud.
Note: When you save a model to the cloud, save to the Projects folder. See
About Files in the
Forma Data Management Help for details.
- Click Save.
Revit displays information about the status of the saving process.
- Click Close to continue.
If you subscribe to notifications in
Forma Data Management, you receive an email when your model is successfully uploaded to the cloud.
- If the uploaded model includes links,
migrate the linked models to
Forma Data Management.
Note: The
Forma Data Management project is only visible to the release of
Revit the model was shared from. Cloud models can only be linked to other models shared using the same release.
Option 3 - when you create a non-workshared model and then convert it to a workshared model
- In
Revit, open or create a model.
- Click File tab

(Save As)
(Cloud Model).
- In the Save as Cloud Model dialog, navigate to the desired project and folder in the cloud.
Note: When you save a model to the cloud, save to the Projects folder. See
About Files in the
Forma Data Management Help for details.
- Click Save.
Revit displays information about the status of the saving process.
- Click Close to continue.
If you subscribe to notifications in
Forma Data Management, you receive an email when your model is successfully uploaded to the cloud.
- If the uploaded model includes links, migrate the linked models to
Forma Data Management.
Note: The
Forma Data Management project is only visible to the release of
Revit the model was shared from. Cloud models can only be linked to other models shared using the same release.
- Click Collaborate tab
Manage Collaboration panel
(Worksets).
- In the Enable Worksharing dialog, select each of the check boxes to confirm your understanding of the workflow.
- Click Enable.
Revit displays information about the status of enable worksets process.
- In the Worksets dialog, click OK.
Collaborate with the team
With workshared models saved in the cloud, you can collaborate with the internal team.
- Start
Revit and make sure you're
signed in to your Autodesk account.
- Accept the invitation to the project sent via e-mail.
-
Open a workshared cloud model and make changes in the model concurrently with other users.
-
Synchronize with the central model to save your changes to the model.
Project team members who use
Revit can see these changes. However, the changes are not available to non-Revit users, such as external stakeholders.
Use the
Forma Design Collaboration Sync Activity Indicator in the
Status Bar to check the status of the central model for a workshared cloud model. The status can be Available for Sync or Synchronizing. Click the icon to open the
Synchronize and Modify Settings dialog. The icon is hidden if the active model is not a workshared cloud model.
Available for Sync: The central model is available for synchronizing.
Synchronizing: The central model is busy; another user is synchronizing. Use the Reload Latest command to retrieve the latest changes.
When multiple users are synchronizing, a message displays that multiple users are synchronizing with the central model. When a single user is synchronizing, the user’s name is also displayed in the tooltip.
Model versions and app versions
When you use the Open tool in
Revit to access cloud models,
Revit ensures that you are working on the latest version of the cloud model. You can also
open or restore an earlier version of the cloud model, if necessary.
When you open a model, you must use the same version of
Revit in which the model was created. A model created in
Revit 2026 will not open in
Revit 2027 and vice versa. If you want to open a model in a newer version of
Revit, you can either
upgrade a cloud model or download it, open in the newer
Revit version, and then save back to the cloud as a new model.